Totes mah goats!

TotesMahGoats

Today, the Martin Universal “Just Stow-It” Traveling Artist Rollerboard Tote I ordered thanks to a birthday giftcard from my mom arrived. I was hesitant to get it, at first, because none of the pictures or reviews I could find online talked about its capacity, or even showed many pictures of what the bag looks like all opened up, but I took a leap of faith. Wow, am I glad that I did.

First, let me rectify what the entire intarwebz seems to have utterly failed to do and show you what this thing looks like on the inside.


Front pocket, completely opened up.


Again with the front pocket…


Side pockets, identical on either side. The stitching on the straps makes them default to folding inward, so no fussing with trying to make sure they’re fully stuffed into the pocket whilst zipping it closed.


Interior, empty for now…


Brushes for the Brush God…


MOAR BRUSHEZ! That broad brush there is a 3″ gesso brush, for those keeping score at home…

Okay, so seriously… that last picture there? That’s a quart of gesso, two pints of Mod Podge, and five half-pint bottles and canisters of various acrylic media, and it hasn’t even filled a quarter of the cargo capacity of this tote. Are you speechless yet? I am! But I’m going to witter on for a bit anyway.

That back pocket in the interior? The divider is removable and held quite securely by some serious velcro top and bottom on either side. 11″ x 14″ sketchbooks fit comfortably in there. Even top-spiral sketch pads have room to spare.

Okay, I lied, here are a couple more pictures…

That's a lot of stuff in there...

That’s a lot of stuff in there.

MartinTote10

No, seriously, look at how much stuff that is! An 11″x14″ top spiral sketch pad, an 8.5″ x 11″ hard cover sketchbook, as well as a spiral bound sketchbook of the same size, a 7″ x 10″ spiral bound watercolour field journal, my palette board, Samsung Note 10.1, and my Kindle, a 72 pencil Derwent tin, a 24-pencil tin, three 12-pencil tins, a tin of the Derwent XL charcoal sticks, a 12″ x 4″ x 1.75″ pencil case, and the aforementioned quart of gesso, two half-pint bottles of glazing medium, two half-pint canisters of acrylic grounds, two pints of Mod Podge, half-pint of rubber cement, and a partridge in a pear tree. Plus the 25 brushes stored in the top flap, and that’s without putting anything in the side or front pockets. My 2 year old Maine Coon kitten even fits in this tote, though you’ll have to take my word for it, as he didn’t fancy having his picture taken today.

This bag is a painting studio on wheels, and fabulously rugged. And it’s in my “house colours” of purple and black. What’s not to love?

Also, the telescoping handle is sized such that you can put their messenger bag on top and not be bashing your hand into it. In fact, the messenger bag has a strap specifically to go over the handle of the rolling bag and hold them securely together. I think I see a messenger bag in my future…

Leave a Reply

