Recipe: Spring Salad

Given my and the Reverend’s metabolic fun and games, general desire to be health-conscious, carbon-conscious, Earth-conscious and just generally conscious, we’re conducting an experiment into a wholly organic, free range, local, in-season, grown/raised only by left-handed farmers diet. ¬†Preparing for our weekly shopping, I bimbled over to the Whole Foods website to peruse what was on offer and also look for inspiration. I found there a recipe for a “spring salad” with a very simple yet interesting-sounding dressing, so that’s what we’re having tonight. An early crop of asparagus and strawberries, with both on offer, made this an astonishingly cheap meal, too, I’m very pleased to say.

Spring Salad with Creamy Orange-Avocado Dressing

Ingredients

3 green onions, trimmed
1/2 avocado, peeled and pitted
1/2 cup orange juice
Salt and ground black pepper to taste
3 ounces spring greens or mesclun mix
1 cup sliced fresh strawberries
1/2 pound asparagus, trimmed and sliced into strips with a vegetable peeler

Method

Puree green onions, avocado, juice, salt and pepper in a blender or food processor until smooth to make a dressing.

In a large bowl, toss greens, strawberries and asparagus together. Transfer to plates, drizzle with half the dressing and serve. Extra dressing will keep one day refrigerated.

I paired this with a simple pasta with bought tomato sauce augmented with Italian sausage which was also on offer.

Economics
The salad, all told, ran 8.93 to make and offered up two Reverend-sized servings and two me-sized servings. The pasta offered up about the same number of servings. All told, dinner and lunch tomorrow came in at $18.50.

What I did differently: Not being able to find the measuring cups, I eyeballed the orange juice, and over-estimated slightly. I made up for it by adding in the other half avocado. Also, we opted for the “fresh herb” salad box, rather than straight spring greens. Rather than mess about with the vegetable peeler, I just cut the asparagus into ~1″ chunks.

What I’ll do differently next time: I think the salad dressing wants a fresh herb of some sort, though I’m waffling on which, and I think I’ll add cucumbers next time. Other than that, really, this was a lovely, easy and elegant salad. I think the dressing would go quite nicely on a more garden-variety (ha!) green salad, but it paired particularly well with the strawberries.

All told, I don’t think I even spent an hour going from whole raw food to sitting down to dinner and not only was I cooking the sausages from frozen, but I also put the pasta water on to boil about ten minutes later than I should have.

Leave a Reply

